Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I delivered a TEDx talk on a topic very close to my heart. “Feel young ,even as you age”

Feel young ,as you age

I recited this favourite poem of mine.

“Youth is not a time of life; it is a state of mind.

Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul.

Worry, fear, self-distrust hurts the heart and weakens the spirit.

Whether sixty or sixteen, there is in every human being’s heart a wireless station;

So long as it receives messages of beauty, hope, cheer, and courage,

so long are you young.

When your spirit is covered with snows of cynicism and the ice of pessimism, then you are grown old, even at twenty,

But as long as your spirits are high, there is no doubt you may die young at eighty”

Do you know how many types of ages does a person have?

Research shows that a person has three ages-chronological age, biological age, and psychological age. Let’s understand these in simple terms. Chronological age is your age as per your birth certificate. Biological age is determined by how well your physiological systems ate functioning. It takes into account your BP, sugar level, immune function, bone density, metabolic rate etc. Imagine, for a moment, that you had no birth certificate and your age was simply based on the way you feel inside. That would be your psychological age.

Life has taught me a profound lesson, we all have the potential to do something great, but we don’t know it. When the circumstances force us to move out of our comfort zone, stretch our limits, we realise our potential and shine.

As a young man, I felt pride and joy. Now as a senior citizen I feel a sense of dignity and honour. Age has not dampened my enthusiasm.

Let me share a poem composed by me for today.

“Aging is not something to fright

Forget your wrinkles or your whites

Every wrinkle and every white

 Shows your joys, your hardships, and plight

 Just keep your mind and body right

 Everyday see something bright

Aging is not something to fright”

Please watch my TEDx talk and post your comments on You Tube.

If you are planning to deliver a TEDx Talk ,I am ready to guide you. Feel free to connect with me on Whatsapp 7030200066